Daily Bible Readings

The foundational premise of this set of daily readings is their relationship to the Sunday lectionary. The readings are chosen so that the days leading up to Sunday (Thursday through Saturday) prepare for the Sunday readings. The days flowing out from Sunday (Monday through Wednesday) reflect upon the Sunday readings.


Sunday, September 17

Genesis 50:15-21

Psalm 103:[1-7] 8-13

Romans 14:1-12

Matthew 18:21-35


Monday, September 18

Psalm 133

Genesis 48:8-22

Hebrews 11:23-29


Tuesday, September 19

Psalm 133

Genesis 49:29—50:14

Romans 14:13—15:2


Wednesday, September 20

Psalm 133

Genesis 50:22-26

Mark 11:20-25


Thursday, September 21

Psalm 145:1-8

Nahum 1:1, 14—2:2

2 Corinthians 13:1-4


Friday, September 22

Psalm 145:1-8

Nahum 2:3-13

2 Corinthians 13:5-10


Saturday, September 23

Psalm 145:1-8

Zephaniah 2:13-15

Matthew 19:23-30


Sunday, September 24

Jonah 3:10—4:11

Psalm 145:1-8

Philippians 1:21-30

Matthew 20:1-16


Monday, September 25

Psalm 106:1-12

Genesis 27:1-29

Romans 16:1-16  


Tuesday, September 26

Psalm 106:1-12

Genesis 28:10-17

Romans 16:17-20


Wednesday, September 27

Psalm 106:1-12

Isaiah 41:1-13

Matthew 18:1-5


Thursday, September 28

Psalm 25:1-9

Ezekiel 12:17-28

James 4:11-16


Friday, September 29

Psalm 25:1-9

Ezekiel 18:5-18

Acts 13:32-41


Saturday, September 30

Psalm 25:1-9

Ezekiel 18:19-24

Mark 11:27-33


Sunday, October 1

Ezekiel 18:1-4, 25-32

Psalm 25:1-9

Philippians 2:1-13

Matthew 21:23-32


Monday, October 2

Psalm 28

Judges 14:1-20

Philippians 1:3-14


Tuesday, October 3

Psalm 28

Judges 16:1-22

Philippians 1:15-21


Wednesday, October 4

Psalm 28

Judges 16:23-31

Matthew 9:2-8


Thursday, October 5

Psalm 80:7-15

Jeremiah 2:14-22

Colossians 2:16-23


Friday, October 6

Psalm 80:7-15

Jeremiah 2:23-37

Philippians 2:14-18; 3:1-4a


Saturday, October 7

Psalm 80:7-15

Jeremiah 6:1-10

John 7:40-52


Sunday, October 8

Isaiah 5:1-7

Psalm 80:7-15

Philippians 3:4b-14

Matthew 21:33-46


Monday, October 9

Psalm 144

Ezekiel 19:10-14

1 Peter 2:4-10


Tuesday, October 10

Psalm 144

Isaiah 27:1-6

2 Corinthians 5:17-21


Wednesday, October 11

Psalm 144

Song of Solomon 8:5-14

John 11:45-57


Thursday, October 12

Psalm 23

Isaiah 22:1-8a

1 Peter 5:1-5, 12-14


Friday, October 13

Psalm 23

Isaiah 22:8b-14

James 4:4-10


Saturday, October 14

Psalm 23

Isaiah 24:17-23

Mark 2:18-22


Sunday, October 15

Isaiah 25:1-9

Psalm 23

Philippians 4:1-9

Matthew 22:1-14


Monday, October 16

Psalm 34

Exodus 19:7-20

Jude 17-25


Tuesday, October 17

Psalm 34

Amos 9:5-15

Philippians 3:13—4:1


Wednesday, October 18

Psalm 34

Song of Solomon 7:10—8:4

John 6:25-35


Thursday, October 19

Psalm 96:1-9 [10-13]

Judges 17:1-6

3 John 9-12


Friday, October 20

Psalm 96:1-9 [10-13]

Deuteronomy 17:14-20

1 Peter 5:1-5


Saturday, October 21

Psalm 96:1-9 [10-13]

Isaiah 14:3-11

Matthew 14:1-12


Sunday, October 22

Isaiah 45:1-7

Psalm 96:1-9 [10-13]

1 Thessalonians 1:1-10

Matthew 22:15-22


Monday, October 23

Psalm 98

Daniel 3:1-18

Revelation 18:1-10, 19-20  


Tuesday, October 24

Psalm 98

Daniel 3:19-30

Revelation 18:21-24


Wednesday, October 25

Psalm 98

Daniel 6:1-28

Matthew 17:22-27


Thursday, October 26

Psalm 1

Numbers 5:5-10

Titus 1:5-16


Friday, October 27

Psalm 1

Deuteronomy 9:25—10:5

Titus 2:7-8, 11-15


Saturday, October 28

Psalm 1

Proverbs 24:23-34

John 5:39-47


Sunday, October 29

Leviticus 19:1-2, 15-18

Psalm 1

1 Thessalonians 2:1-8

Matthew 22:34-46


Sunday, October 29 - Reformation Sunday

Jeremiah 31:31-34

Psalm 46

Romans 3:19-28

John 8:31-36


Monday, October 30

Psalm 119:41-48

Deuteronomy 6:1-9, 20-25

James 2:8-13


Tuesday, October 31

Psalm 119:41-48

Deuteronomy 10:10-22

James 2:14-26


Wednesday, November 1

Psalm 119:41-48

Proverbs 16:1-20

Matthew 19:16-22


Thursday, November 2

Psalm 43

1 Samuel 2:27-36

Romans 2:17-29


Friday, November 3

Psalm 43

Ezekiel 13:1-16

2 Peter 2:1-3


Saturday, November 4

Psalm 43

Malachi 1:6—2:9

Matthew 23:13-28


Sunday, November 5

Micah 3:5-12

Psalm 43

2 Thessalonians 2:9-13

Matthew 23:1-12